Emma Raducanu hits out at ‘insane’ officiating after grass-court victory

Emma Raducanu hits out at ‘insane’ officiating after grass-court victory

Raducanu wins in first match on grass since 2022Briton unhappy with calls made by umpire Ana Carvalho

Emma Raducanu opened her grass-court season with a heartening win over Ena Shibahara in the first round of the Rothesay Open – and a sharp jab at the Brazilian umpire Ana ­Carvalho. Her straight-sets victory over the ­Japanese qualifier in Nottingham was followed by a pointed attack on the standard of the officiating.

There is no Hawk-Eye system in operation at the tournament and Raducanu was distinctly unimpressed after a series of tight calls went against her. “I feel like I was playing two v one on court – it was insane,” said Raducanu. “I would have used probably at least four challenges [if we’d had them].

Continue reading…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *